chalkboard design

Project | Chalkboard Cutting Board

I am a sentimental fool, in all honesty.

I get attached to material items that are past their usage date, that I don’t have room for, that I absolutely do not need, simply because I end up nostalgic about memories tied to the item. Recently, this tendency reared its head in the form of a broken cutting board.

The wooden cutting board is one I bought near the end of my second Disney College Program in 2011 in Orlando, FL. I love the Disney kitchen collection and picked it up in addition to an adorable tea kettle, on the basis that they were more “usable” souvenirs of my time there. The items traveled with me to three states over the next four years, and were definitely more usable than some of the other knick-knacks I accumulated. That is, until the cutting board split apart slightly.

Kevin rightly told me the split made the cutting board harder to clean thoroughly, and it was just going to get worse. Still, my attachment to things is a force to be reckoned with, and I proclaimed I would find a new use for the cutting board so it wouldn’t have to go in the trash. Thanks to Pinterest, I came up with a craft project to save my cutting board, and add decoration to our apartment.

I decided to turn the cutting board into a chalkboard that I could hang in our kitchen and draw cute designs on for each new season. The project turned out to be a pretty simple process, with only one unexpected step.

chalkboard spray paint

As we already had a sanding block at home, the only supplies I picked up at Michael’s were a can of chalkboard spray paint and a pack of plain white chalk.

After sanding down the surface of the board to make a smoother base, I applied the first of four coats of spray paint to the board.

chalkbaord cutting board

As I applied the next few coats, the important thing was to make sure I was spraying evenly over the board and not creating pools of paint. If any pools occurred, I would sand them down slightly. I only bothered with spraying the top and sides, as the back portion would be hanging on the wall.

The can of spray paint I got was a quick drying formula, but to be safe, I let it sit about 30 minutes between each coat. Once the last coat was applied, I left it alone for a few hours.

decorative cutting board

Once it was dry, I went to test chalk on the board and ran into a small issue. I had gone with four coats of paint in an attempt to make sure the lines on the wood were filled in, but this may have been one coat too many. The chalk barely left a white mark, but did leave a dent in the paint.

To solve this, I sanded lightly on the surface, and then rubbed the side of the chalk over the surface of the board, wiped it clean, and then repeated several times to give the surface a better “grip.”This ended up working really well.

chalkboard design

It was a quick, easy project, and I am so glad I got to keep my little cutting board in a new form. My chalk writing skills are pretty lackluster right now, but I do have plenty of opportunity to practice them with this new chalkboard! I’ve also heard chalk pens are much easier to use for this purpose.

chalk writing

You can use an old wood cutting board or a new one specifically for this project. It’s a fun place to write messages, a favorite recipe, grocery lists, or seasonal drawings.

What household items have you re-purposed for DIY projects?

sig3

Comments

