summer reading list

Reading List | May 2015

Welcome to the May reading list at Intrusions of Beauty!

I love libraries, and love that they provide free reading material to the community. Literacy is something I’m passionate about, as well as making sure the next generation appreciates and loves reading. The local library near our house has become a wonderful resource for me. It’s free, within walkable distance, and has access to all the libraries in the county if they don’t happen to have what I’m looking for. Kevin and I have even enjoyed an afternoon reading and drinking coffee in one of their reading rooms with a gorgeous view of the surrounding area.

As I wrap up reading and reviewing April’s books, I have an awesome list to look forward to this month – most of which are library books.  I have another classic to check off my list, and a few books that I plan on using to help me with my latest volunteering project. I’m working with a wonderful nonprofit on growing their social media, and I’ve found a few books to give me some new ideas and tactics – one of which I used for my thesis last year! I’m looking forward to reading it again with a new perspective.

Reading List | May 2015

 

  • A Storm of Swords (A Song of Ice and Fire #3) by George R.R. Martin || After last month’s The World of Ice and Fire, I’m ready to dive back into this series. Since I’ve seen the show through season 4, I have a pretty decent idea what’s coming up in this volume ( where I last left off, I hadn’t even reachea storm of swordsd the Red Wedding, so that should be “fun” to relive in print!). It has been interesting to see the differences between the show and novels, and I expect new details and side plots that didn’t make it to TV in this one too. Now, if I can just get Kevin caught up through season 4 of the show, we can start in on season 5!

 

  • Social Change Anytime Everywhere by Allyson Kapin and Amy Sample Wardnonprofit social media || One of my picks for my volunteering project, this book promises to be an “action-oriented guide” to the world of nonprofits and social media. I learned a lot from my thesis work about how nonprofits can use social media, but each organization will have unique challenges and opportunities. I’m hoping this book will provide some ideas about how to truly make an impact, and help my organization reach more clients.

 

  • 101 Social Media Tactics for Nonprofits by Melanie  Mathos and Chad Norman || This book and I are old friends. I became very acquainted with this book while building the literature social media for nonprofitsreview sections of my thesis. I wrote the phrase “Mathos and Norman state…” far more times than I’d like to remember. I know there’s some awesome tidbits in here, and that the authors were very thorough. I’m interested to read it again through the lens of a professional, rather than a graduate student.

 

  • Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson || treasure islandMy quest to conquer classics I’ve missed continues! I’ve seen several movie iterations of this, but it just doesn’t feel right that I haven’t read the original work. It has been hanging out my kindle awhile, and I had a slot for it this month.

 

  •  Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins || Every bookstore I’ve been in recently has this sitting on the shelf right next togirl on the train All the Light We Cannot See. I’ve heard that it is the next Gone Girl. I did like Gone Girl, but now find myself usually trying to convince others who have read it or seen the movie that the husband was just as insane as the wife, and that Andi was really the most hate-able character (am I alone in all of this?!?!!). Still, I am definitely intrigued by the premise of Girl on the Train, and love when there’s puzzles in books. I’ll be picking this one up at the library soon!

 

What’s on your summer reading list?

intrusions of beauty

5 thoughts on “Reading List | May 2015

  1. Bernadine says:

    I loved The Girl on the Train. We read it in my book club and the general consensus was that, while the characters are all somewhat un-likable, the story was super engaging. I look forward to hearing what you think!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments

