book reviews

Reading List | April 2015

Welcome to the first monthly reading list at Intrusions of Beauty! One of my New Year’s resolutions for 2015 is to read at least 50 books this year. Unfortunately, with relocating to Portland in February (and choosing now to pick up the A Song of Ice and Fire series – the second book that I recently finished was almost 1,000 pages!), I’ve fallen quite a bit behind on this goal. Now that things are settling down for me, I’m ready to launch back into reading. For April, I’ve got a pretty diverse list of books stacked on my night stand and loaded on my Kindle:

  • 1) The World of Ice and Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones | George R.R. Martin

the world of ice and fire coverThis is a companion book to the A Song of Ice and Fire series that looks absolutely beautiful! Interestingly, this was written with the help of two super fans of the series. It’s a large book and just flipping through it shows some of the amazing art pieces that have been included. From glancing through it, it appears to be a history book written “in character” by one of the maesters in Westeros. It will be interesting to see if this affects the narrative and the book’s usability as a true reference book.

  • 2) Make Your Creative Dreams Real | SARKspring reading list 2015

I have had this book for years, and have never finished it. I decided now would be a great time to pick it up again. It’s a guidebook/workbook to help you unleash creativity and focus on goals big and small. It’s set up with 12 chapters, each corresponding to a month of the year – but it’s not required to do the activities this way. You are encouraged to do the tasks and chapters at whatever pace suits you. I’m looking forward to applying some of the tips to make better use of the unemployed time I have on my hands.

  • 3) Jane Eyre | Charlotte Bronte

jane eyreI am actually about a quarter of the way through this classic already. I started the book several months ago, and set it aside due to distraction from other books. As it is on my lengthy list of important classics to read, now is a great time to finish it.

  • 4) All the Light We Cannot See | Anthony Doerr
    all the light we cannot see

I have heard so much about this book in the recent months, and am very excited to start it. It’s been on the best seller list for fiction for a number of weeks, and I’ve heard it described as an “adult fairytale.” The cover is eye-catching. When I noticed it during our recent visit to Powell’s City of Books in Portland, Kevin decided to be a sweetheart and get it for me.

Expect reviews on these books on the blog soon!

What are you reading this month? I’m always looking for more recommendations! Considering that I’m behind schedule on my reading resolution, I am in need of new book ideas!

intrusions of beauty

2 thoughts on “Reading List | April 2015

  1. coraxbella says:

    have wanted to read All The Light We Cannot See forever! Now I just may have to pick it up.. I love the idea of these kind of posts- I might just make one!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natalie says:

      All the Light We Cannot see was a fantastic read, and I definitely recommend it! These lists tend to help me keep track of my reading and work toward my reading goal for this year, and they are fun to do! I’d love to check yours out if you decide to do them too.

      Like

Comments

